tags

CAKE flavoured books tag // in which I have some very strong cake opinions

So I was reading some blogs in search of post ideas when I came across this amazing tag. I mean…Just look at that title it’s pure perfection. So this is the #CakeFlavouredBooks Tag! (and no this isn’t just an excuse for me to fangirl about cake….shut up John)

giphy (20)

This tag is stolen from @paperfury who stole it from #bookstagram! and ya’ll should check EVERYONE out because it’s cake everyone loves cake (and if you don’t love cake…who hurt you in this way?). Since cake is one of the best things humanity has invented (that and dad dating simulators) I shall fangirl about it whenever I can.

NOW I DO think we need more book tags about Ice Cream. Obviously. Because what is better than cake? ICE CREAM. Just sayn’. Ok ok this is a fun tag not a bam-unpopular-controversial-opinions tag so I shall not push my agenda any further.

BACK TO UNHEALTHILY SUGARY CAKE AND BOOKS.

1. CHOCOLATE CAKE (a dark book you absolutely love)

Cake opinion:  Chocolate cake is the absolute ultimate cake. You can fight me on this one John. Chocolate cake is one of the best things in life and none of you can convince me otherwise.

And of course Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo is one of my favorite books ever. It matches the darkness and goodness just perfectly.

2. VANILLA CAKE (a light read)

Cake opinion: Ok now vanilla cake is average at best. I do absolutely LOVE vanilla and cake but these things should stay separate. It’s just too spongy and bland and it honestly tastes like sweet bread.

Now I do loveee light reads ESPECIALLY when I’m in a reading slump. Queens of Geek by Jean Wilde is so cute and fluffy and you should absolutely read it. Better than vanilla cake for sure. As amazing as vanilla ice cream.

3. RED VELVET (a book that gave you mixed emotions)

Cake opinion: I must confess that I have never had red velvet cake in my life. And before you gasp in betrayal: I think it’s an american thing. Maybe? I THINK they sell them at Starbucks here but guess what we don’t even have that many Starbuckses (is that the plural? if it’s not i’m making that up i don’t know). No seriously, here you can only get Starbucks at the mall and even that’s rare. And I live in the capital so here are the most Starbuckses in the whole country…WHICH IS LIKE 6.

Now a book series that gave me mixed emotions was definitely The mortal instruments by Cassandra Clare. “Wait what but isn’t Cassandra Clare one of your favorite authors” you may be asking. And yes she is. But the Mortal Instruments isn’t my favorite series by her. The first 2 books were underwhelming and I rated City Of Fallen Angels 2 stars. The last books are always the best and she definitely grew as a writer. But for me her first series is a mixed bag.

4. CHEESECAKE (a book you would recommend to anyone)

Cake opinion: As someone who is mostly vegan I will occasionally consume this cake. And yes it is incredibly good. But it should be consumed especially with blueberry jam. I did not try any crazy variations so I might just be a noob when it comes to the wonderful kinds of cheesecake.

A book that I always recommend is Percy Jackson and The Olympians. Are you a mere child? Read Percy Jackson. Are you a mere young adult struggling with life decisions? Read Percy Jackson. You will not be disappointed I guarantee.

giphy (21)

5. COFFEE CAKE (a book you started but never finished)

Cake opinion: What is the “coffee cake”? Is that different from Tiramisu? Is it just as good?? Is it, dare I say, better?? I don’t know because I’m pretty sure i never had it. I did have coffee eclairs though- is this similar?

AS for the books: HAHAHAHAHAH….i am currently in the middle of 7 books please send help.

But one of the books I DNFed was Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs. I never finished that trilogy. I JUST GOT SOOO BORED. I guess I will never know the ending huh….oh well. I’m sure I will move on with my life after this dreadful thing, excuse the sarcasm.

6. CARROT CAKE (a book with great writing)

Cake opinion: I had only had this cake once in my life and it was a heavenly experience. I am still thinking about it’s deliciousness. Oh, my dear Vegetable Cake that should not exist but somehow does and it’s a blessing, please let our paths cross again sometime. And your trajectory be straight to my mouth. K thankssss.

And what other book with great writing is there other than The Raven Boys by Maggie Stefvater. There is just a certain creativity about the writing that I just love. It’s not overly pompous it’s just….interesting. And good. Very good. You should read these books at once.

7. TIRAMISU (book that left you wanting more)

Cake opinion: Tiramisu is BY FAR the superior cake ok. It’s also the only cake i can actually make from scratch on my own but i digress. My grandma and I make it for birthdays, name days (do you have this thing in America? Or..any OTHER country?? Because if you don’t that’s sad you miss out on a cake-eating and present-receiving extra day in the year for the sole reason that you share a saint’s name), Christmas, New Year etc. I basically eat this cake on a regular basis. 

And of course i had to pick Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I just NEEDED more ok. It finishes on a bit of an open ending but just a tad bit moreeee please.

fangirl

(psssst..follow me on bookstagram @dragon_waffles )

8. CUPCAKES (series with 4+ books)

Cake opinion: How are cupcakes cake? Are they cake..in a cup??…o…key..I shall no longer question the legitimacy of the cake status of cupcakes. They are good but I prefer muffins. They may be uglier but it’s the inside that counts.

And for this I say The Lunar Chronicles by Merrisa Meyer. Fairy tale retailngs in space? Badass space ladies- what more could you want? It’s also they only sci-fi that managed to not turn my head to confused goop and that’s a huge plus!!!

9. FRUIT CAKE (book that wasn’t what you anticipated)

Cake opinion: Fruit cake is always what you anticipate: a disappointment. Sorry if it’s you favorite cake… if that’s the case you are just wrong. Sorry but you just make bad decisions in life. When i eat cake I want an unhealthy amount of sugar -I do not want any kind of fruit near. I’ve made my choice I’m not going back.

And what better surprising book than one I expected to love but ended up meh-ing. I’m talking about the disappointment at the start of the year: Caraval by Stephanie Garber. My review is here if you want more of my thoughts because this is supposed to be a fun filled tag and I’m not letting my unpopular opinion ruin the joy of cake.

And if cupcakes are considered cakes let me make my own addition to this tag:

10. Mugcake (a book that you read in one sitting)

Cake opinion: The only time I had ever tried mug cake was when I saw a vegan recipe and…it turned out fine? It had banana instead of eggs and of course I added some cinnamon (yes I DO actually put it on everything). But I do not trust cooking in the microwave ok so i never tried that again and I will never try a non-vegan alternative. Sorry Buzzfeed.

As for one sitting: I have no book. Nada. I cannot finish a book in just one sitting. Or in multiple sittings for that matter. My attention span is short and if I see a speck of dust I will get distracted. It’s like my brain poured redbull into coffee. Concentrating on a book more than five minutes at a time it’s a big nope.

Now I did finish books in one day. Which is vastly different because I am a pretty speedy reader. Make those 5 minutes count. One of those books was Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon. My review is here. I did feel like I ran a marathon afterwords though.

giphy (22)


And that was THE CAKE TAG! I mean the BOOK CAKE TAG!! … who am i kidding this was 80% me pushing my cake agenda. This book tag is honestly lacking book answers.

What about YOU? Any strong dessert opinions (like how ice cream is vastly superior)? And what is your favorite type of cake?? I would love to have a cake filled discussion.

Also sorry in advance for the rare posts next weeks because I will be going to London. Expect a travel blog post about that soon enough though.

4 thoughts on “CAKE flavoured books tag // in which I have some very strong cake opinions

  1. The cake book tag seems great fun – thanks for sharing! 😀

    I totally agree with you about The Mortal Instruments series in regards to having mixed feelings. I hate Cassandra Clare’s writing – in reality, she is an absolutely awful writer with very bland prose. And the main character (Clary) is insipid and tedious, and Jace really annoys me. But, Jesus, the storylines and the background characters (especially Magnus, Alec, Isabelle and Simon) kept me absolutely enthralled. They were books that I loved to hate, but that I loved all the same.

    Cheesecake with blueberry jam??? I have never experienced this before but it sounds delicious – I will have to try it!

    Coffee cake is a sponge made with coffee (in place of, say, vanilla or cocoa powder) and, usually, has a coffee buttercream in the middle and on the top, decorated by walnuts. It’s delicious! Here’s a recipe https://www.nigella.com/recipes/coffee-and-walnut-layer-cake

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yess I absolutley loved Izzy and Simon and Magnus ❤. They saved the whole series for me because I couldn’t care less about Clary or Jace 😂. I ended up absolutley loving the series becuse all the side characters were so amazing and cute.
      And coffee cake sounds absolutley delicious. My mouth is already watering just from that description. Thanks for taking the time to actually find me a recipe ❤❤. I will definitly try that out for my birthday!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t even understand this dad dating game, it’s just everywhere all the sudden lol. But anyway… I love that you gave your opinion on all the cakes as well as the books, haha. I agree choco cake is the best! (Although, actually, I’ve had this strawberry cake with strawberry icing and ohmygoodness, THAT is the best cake ever, but it’s a very specific recipe kinda thing.) I’ve never much cared for vanilla. And I don’t think I’ve ever had red velvet cake either??? I’m not even entirely sure what it is, like, what the flavor is. I think I looked it up once and it had cocoa powder AND vanilla or something? I’ve never had tiramisu either though o.0 And gah, I love cupcakes because my fave part of cakes is the ends, and cupcakes are like all end! I haven’t read any of the books in this post, but I do plan to read Six of Crowns and Raven Boys and maybe Percy Jackson 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmm red velvet being a mix of chocolate and vanilla would make sense because the question is about “mixed feelings*. Though …it doesn’t explain WHY it’s red 😂😂?? And all of your cake opinions are all gold omg ❤. And mhmm I do agree with you on the very specific recepie kind of cake because I am pretty meh about most tiramisus but I absolutley adore the one that my grandma makes haha.
      Good luck with those books! (Even if they aren’t really your prefered genre 😅) I hope you like them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

