Milk and honey by Rupi Kaur // a small step into poetry

Milk and Honey is my very first poetry collection and I am very glad I started here. Yes it’s popular and so mainstream now that it’s cool to hate on it but I actually very much enjoyed it.

Rating : 5/5

Look I am not rebel that hates on things like a total pickle because it makes me oh so different. I am sorry for all you people reading “real poetry” whatever that means (honestly what even IS real poetry ?? and so what if people like tumblr-style-space-hitting ? I consider myself a fan thank you very much) that feel the burning need to come criticize what other people read just to fell superior. (let us have nice things ok damn)

(I will now go drink a pumpkin spice latte in your honor tbh haters because guess what- IT’S FRICKING DELICIOUS)

294

Milk and Honey is split into four parts: the hurting ( TW for domestic abuse and rape), the loving, the breaking and the healing. The narrative is pretty loosely connected (or so i think. Was it supposed to tell the same story ?? because it felt pretty disjointed in some aspects but connected in others so i don’t really know) but the point of view is clearly a woman. And let me tell you: it felt damn good and refreshing to read from someone so authentic. It is what it promises to be: a raw, beautiful, true And very feminist little book.

 First of all : It really speaks with the voice of a woman. It GETS it. It shows the way we want love, how we can be hopelessly romantic but also furious, insecure and full of sadness. It clearly sends the message of how we are taught to stay quiet and to just be less when in fact we could be more in so many ways.

My personal favorite part of the book was the healing, for obvious reasons. It’s a tribute to beauty and strength and it was just wonderful and inspirational. A lot of young woman should read this just to get that feeling that they can accomplish anything if they put their minds to it.

 (it also has a few poems compering us to dragons and storms so you can’t really argue with the truth. i don’t make the rules you see it is written on paper so can we please accept it and make it official that women are super powerful dragon queens ???)

 (*to all the other awesome noodles that are reading this and don’t identify as women: you can also be powerful dragon queens ok now go incinerate all of your enemies)

294

I didn’t really enjoy some of the poems that had pretty graphic sexual descriptions (ok so there were some metaphors used but still) but they weren’t jarring or anything like that. It actually added to the story i am just not a huge fan of these kinds of things.

I tagged and bent a lot of the pages in here (lol am i now banished forever for such horrible crimes against the precious book ?? relax it’s just paper not the end of the world i promise you sweet child) and I am certain that i will reread some poems because they are so calming and empowering tbh.

It empowers woman and has a very strong feminist message as you would expect (I AM A FEMINIST IN CASE YOU DIDN’T ALREADY KNOW…DUUUHHH) but it does that WITHOUT putting men down. It also talks about the struggle of being a woman of colour, intersectional feminism being the best and important thing to talk about ever, showing a unique point of view from someone of other ethnicity.

294

ALSO!!!! I really liked the doodles in this. Just a silly little thing but I am a firm believer that all books should have doodles so this pleases me greatly. The aesthetic is truly on point and very much instagramable if you were curious.

So if any of you out there are looking to get into poetry because it’s really popular right now and you don’t want to feel left out and cry (it can’t be just me that feels this way ok ahem) you can totally start here.

And don’t be afraid that it is going to be an infuriatingly pretentious read that it’s just going to make you feel like a dumb sock because i promise it will be fine. My own sock brain didn’t panic and flee when i read this so i doubt yours will. And as you all know i know everything so you should trust me.

cc506816-e76b-4591-aa76-6899a3286271

Some of my favorite poems (possible spoilers obviously):

m&h #3m&h #2m&h #1

cc506816-e76b-4591-aa76-6899a3286271

23513349

milk and honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. It is about the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity. It is split into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose, deals with a different pain, heals a different heartache. milk and honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.

Goodreads

 

20170910_112626What about YOU, my fellow reading succulents? What are YOUR feelings? Did you hate this with the fiery rage of a million dragons because how dare this be called poetry when all of your reads are so much better OR do you love this and want the beautiful words tattooed on your face ??

Also do you have any other poetry collection recommendations? Please leave those in the comments too as I am really new to this and some help would be appreciated.

9 thoughts on “Milk and honey by Rupi Kaur // a small step into poetry

  1. Loved reading this, I’ve looked at the collection a few times and this has definitely made me think of buying it! I’m so used to poetry being a drama student but rarely read it for myself and I’m all about female power so you swayed me with the dragons haha! (Also I totally bend my book pages too, it makes them feel so loved to me❤️)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you really like it, I’m so glad my review made you interested in reading it<3 ! And of course dragons and female empowerment should be important decisive factors in our reading *nods approvingly*. (also being a drama student sounds SO AWESOME OMG)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never actually heard of this collection, but it sounds really interesting and like just the sort of thing I’d like – I’ll definitely check it out! Also, I totally get what you’re saying about people hating things just because they’re popular, or saying you should read ‘real poetry’ – that sort of thing is so annoying and snobbish! Just let people enjoy what they enjoy, and be happy that they are reading poetry at all in the first place, right?

    If you’re looking for more poetry collections to read, it sounds like you might really enjoy The World’s Wife by Carol Ann Duffy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! We should just be happy that people are READING and ENJOYING something. There is absolutely no need to put the book or the people down for just doing something they like. Instead of spreading something as lovely as poetry and the message, you just make everyone feel bad :/ .
      And thank you so much for the recommendation I will definitely add it to my growing TBR haha <3.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right I was surprised too! On Goodreads the top comments are just dissing it and shaming others that enjoy it :/ . I am glad I loved it though and that the hype really held up for me. ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

